Educational Technologies for Tomorrow's Workforce

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Blog

The Smart Automation Certification Alliance (SACA) deploys modular Industry 4.0 certifications for a wide range of industries. SACA certifications are industry-driven and developed by industry for industry. The modular SACA certification structure includes three certification types: Associate, Specialist, and Professional.



The Associate certifications include the following four (4) credentials:

  • Industry 4.0 Associate I – Entry Level Operations
  • Industry 4.0 Associate II – Advanced Level Operations
  • Industry 4.0 Associate III – Robotic System Operations
  • Industry 4.0 Associate IV – IIot Data Analytics and Networking

The Associate certifications certify that individuals are prepared to succeed as production technicians in an Industry 4.0 manufacturing environment. These certifications are also ideal for IT professionals seeking to become prepared to apply their IT skills in a modern plant floor environment and incumbent industrial maintenance technicians seeking to acquire Industry 4.0 skills.



The Specialist certifications certify Industry 4.0 technical skills in troubleshooting, programming, maintaining, and integrating systems. Three strands are offered to match with key skilled occupations. Each specialist strand includes two levels, I and II:

  • Certified Industry 4.0 Automation Systems Specialist
  • Certified Industry 4.0 Production Systems Specialist
  • Certified Industry 4.0 IT Operations Specialist

The specialist certifications are modular certifications consisting of a series of micro credentials, each with its own examination. Once an individual has obtained enough micro credentials, a Specialist certification is granted by SACA.



The Industry 4.0 Professional certification is an engineering level certification that focuses on design and optimization of Industry 4.0 systems. It is designed in a modular format, similar to the Specialist certifications, but with a larger number of elective credentials and fewer core credentials to enable the certification to be further adapted to specific needs. This certification is intended to build on selected micro-credentials from the Associate and Specialist certifications.


SACA Credentials & Micro-Credentials